What I found in my computer, tip #1

NO EXCUSES!!!

No excuses what so ever when it comes to writing.

No *choose a number from below and insert it here*

  1. I don’t have time
  2. I have writer’s block
  3. I’m waiting for inspiration
  4. I’m too tired now
  5. Later
  6. Tomorrow
  7. I’m too old/young/unexperienced/whatnot to start
  8. Blaming others for not having time to write
  9. My job is too demanding for me to be able to write in my spare time
  10. But my story idea sucks, it’s not as good as *insert favourite author’s book here*
  11. Excuses!

Writing is like painting or drawing. You don’t become good at it overnight, or just because you took some classes or whatever. A friend told me her drawings looked like a six year old’s drawings, because she had stopped drawing at that age, and the reason my drawings were so good was that I had continued drawing, I had spent several probably thousands of hours drawing, when she had not.

That’s what it comes to. Hard work. Practice. It takes time, and if you don’t do it, you’ll never be any good.

This, however, doesn’t mean that you can’t just sit down one day and write a book one day. Even a six year old can cover a whole canvas with paint, and it can even look artsy, so why can’t you cover a book’s pages with letters? Who knows, it might even look booksy… (not sure if that is a word, but I’m just going to go with it)

So, BIC HOK TAM (That’s short for Butt In Chair, Hands On Keyboard, Typing Away Madly) No excuses any more, get that book down once and for all!