I read Divergent in November during NaNoWriMo

As the title says, I read Veronica Roth’s Divergent (only the first book) in November (when I was not writing)

I usually prefer books before movies, but this one I happened to see the movie first. I had heard about the trilogy before and had read an article about the ending of the trilogy and about the author justifying that ending (yes, I know the ending even though I have not read it, but no ,more spoilers here please).

I watched the movie on a gigantic plane on my way to India. Twice. Because I liked it. Then I decided to get my hands on the book and more or less gobbled it up whole. 🙂

I like the idea of the factions, the world seems quite well thought out, the words are simple, it’s a quick read, it’s YA, and I like the heroine – even though the movie gave me a quite skewed look on what she look like. I like the dystopian future books (sadly I suck at writing dystopian futures, but I would very much like to write one some day).

Apparently the Divergent trilogy has been compared to the Hunger Games trilogy, and I happened to come across the following article comparing the words of the most popular YA authors of today:

Divergent trilogy, by Veronica Roth: A textual analysis comparing it to the Hunger Games, Harry Potter, and the Twilight series..

This is the article before the above one, I recommend reading it too:

Hunger Games: Catching Fire: A textual analysis of Suzanne Collins’ novels, and Twilight and Harry Potter too..

I think the links in the images with the text analysis is not working, so here is a link to the full image: Most common sentences, by author

 

Leave a Reply

