Inspired

I’m not sure if I should write this or if my writing streak will end just because I’m telling others about it.

The other day I started thinking about Cupid (you know the god of love) and I did some research and found out that he fell in love with Psyche (I remembered he fell in love with someone, but not whom). I forgot all about it until 5 am one morning when I woke up to feed my baby. A thought hit me and I couldn’t stop thinking. I wanted to write it down, but I was too tired to get out of bed and find a paper and pen (or start up my computer) so I just laid in bed, eyes closed and thought. I thought as I would read a book. I thought in sentences, forming paragraphs and chapters in my head, afraid I’d forget it if I didn’t think. So I lay in bed, just thinking thinking thinking, and when baby woke up again at around 7 I got up and started writing. And I have been writing ever since, producing 5000+ words every day.

I’m currently on the 4th day and have some 18’000 words to show for it, and they’re still coming. The words are still flowing (now, just because I write this the flow will stop, I’ll complain to you if it does 😉 ) and I’m so surprised that they are. Because usually I have flow for the first couple of thousand words, then it slows down until it’s merely a dribble, but not now.

So I’m writing a love story in Swedish! (yeah, I know, and it’s actually intelligible Swedish, not something that’s chopped up and half filled with English words! (Okay, some English words find their way in, but it’s usually if I’m thinking of an English phrase to which there is no direct Swedish counterpart.

I don’t have time to write more here, I’m gonna turn off internet and continue on the story

*dances away singing to herself*  I’m in love with my characters

Have you ever woken up in the middle of the night and had a superdupermegaidea?

4 thoughts on “Inspired

  1. Härligt att läsa om din cupid, och ditt skrivande – i huvudet och på datorn! Och på svenska! Kram på dig och lycka till med fortsättningen, inte försvinner det bara för att du berättar om det! /Margareta

Leave a Reply

