How to write a novel: the 30-day method

After failing pretty badly (okay, I shouldn’t say fail, because I did write over 20’000 words) in NaNoWriMo, I’ve re-thunk my ambitions and my goal with writing. And I realised I don’t really NEED to be published. It would be a nice side effect, but what I mostly want is my books in my bookshelves, and with todays POD and everything I could basically just slap together a jumble of words and pay for postage etc. and then I WOULD have my book in my bookshelf.

Then we come to the actual writing part, because my brain is flooded with ideas and plots and characters that are just waiting there, with the grey dust between my ears, playing chess, waiting to come out. I always write about writing, but lately I’ve done more thinking about writing than actual writing. That makes me a bit sad. I’ve been “home” for Christmas and New Years (visiting my parents) and I haven’t had access to a computer all the time (nor have I actually had the time to sit in front of the computer either) but I’ve somewhat had the urge to write. Now when I have a computer I’m sitting here, staring at the screen and thinking ‘what now?’

So my New Years resolution is going to be to finish at least one novel this year. And I found this to help me and you, if you’re in the same swamp as me:

How to write a novel | How the 30-day method works | Books | The Guardian.

Write on! 🙂

2 thoughts on “How to write a novel: the 30-day method

Leave a Reply

