November is coming

Here could be a picture of Sean Bean in medieval-ish clothes, looking into the distance… But I was too lazy to do it, so I hope your imagination is up to scratch. Those who don’t understand; it’s not necessary to understand.

For everyone who is writing – or attempting to – next month is NaNoWriMo. (That’s short for National Novel Writing Month, that is less national and more international nowadays, but anyhow…)
For you who have never heard of this madness called NaNoWriMo, it is in November. From 00:00 on 1st to 23:59 on 30th. So what are you supposed to do during this time then? Why, write of course. 50’000 words. Yep. You heard that right. 50’000 words. That is 1667 words per day. Which could mean about 1-2 hours writing time, or if you’re anywhere like me; 12 hours of procrastination. I still manage to surprise myself by winning.
I have won 3 years now. And I have 3 somewhat sucky novels (okay, one is actually not finished, just hanging halfway and I hate it) in dire need of editing (what, did you think any of these 1667 words were gonna be any good? think again)
Anyone can do it. Even you! What? you can’t? That’s because you haven’t tried yet!
You’re too busy? The first year I won I was studying full time, and had exams coming up and had to spend every Thursday in the computer lab programming. I still managed. the second year I was unemployed, and I struggled with meeting the daily goals, even though I had nothing to do during the days, other than the occasional job interview.
So, you’re never too busy, and it’s never too late to finally write that novel!
Write on!

Leave a Reply

