Kamikaze writing

Or God Wind Writing as it would be translated.

Kamikaze pilots were Japanese suicide pilots during the second world war. They flew purpose built aircrafts, that could not land, but were designed to crash (hopefully in some important enemy base or warship).

Why am I writing about Kamikaze writing? Because of Write or Die!

Write or Die!

Sounds terrible, but it’s actually a really nice internet application that really gets you writing. It may not be good writing, but any writing is better than no writing, right?

Write or Die is a web application that encourages writing by punishing the tendency to avoid writing. Start typing in the box. As long as you keep typing, you’re fine, but once you stop typing, you have a grace period of a certain number of seconds and then there are consequences.

And, if you already know about Write or Die, you know why I’m talking about Kamikaze writing. It actually feels like you’re rushing at the ground in a plane that cannot land. Wind whipping past your ears, forcing tears from your eyes, hair blown straight back from your head. Heart pumping adrenaline instead of blood, and vision blurry. At least it feels like that for me when I go for the Kamikaze mode – It’s not for the faint of heart. I prefer the normal mode, thank you very much. After using Write or Die during big parts of NaNoWriMo 2011, I now feel that it’s kind of redundant.

If I know what I want to write, I make sure I write it. In 500 word bursts. I don’t allow myself to take a break before those 500 words are written down. (It usually takes 10-15 minutes, so it’s not a long period of time I need to be concentrated. But while writing 1667 words a day, and lagging behind, Write or Die is invaluable. Just saying 😉

Write or Die can be fount at… yep, exactly, Write or Die by Dr Wicked | Putting the ‘Prod’ in Productivity. If you want to support a mad scientist, you can purchase the desktop or iPad versions, but if you’re like me, broke, the online will do just fine just fine. 🙂

Now, Write or Diiiiiiiiiieeeee!!!!

(somehow I connect Write or Die to Johnny Depp and this video/song:

ummm…. yeah….)

Leave a Reply

