Favourite books

Do you have a favourite book? A book that you read again and again? A book that you read when you want to pick yourself up or calm yourself down or anything?

I have several, in no order of preference:

1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.
I can read this book again and again and again and never tire of it. I love the language, the characters, the story line, Mr Darcy… 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.
Every time I read it I marvel at the language, the words, the characters, the story line, I love everything about it, especially Marvin. Who cannot like him? If there was one person, dead or alive I could meet, it would either be David Bowie (because he’s cool) or Douglas Adams.

 

 

 

3. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.
This is an old friend of mine, it was my favourite book when I was a kid. I read it several times while in school. Then I forgot it for a while, until I, while in Uni, discovered that Studio Ghibli (Hayao Miyazaki, worship that man) had made a movie about it. I watched the movie, realized I just had to read the book again, and now I basically read it once a year. I even read the follow up books, but nothing beats the first one.

 

 

 

4. The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula K. Le Guin
I was so engulfed with this story that I read it one week, all four books, and then I proceeded with Tales from Earthsea and The Other Wind. That spring, when I read them, I was living in Earthsea. I spent every minute I was awake pouring over those books.

 

 

 

 

5. Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden.
I started reading the third book in the series first, because the two first were lent out from the library, at the recommendation of one of my classmates. I then proceeded to read the first one and the rest of the six books followed pretty much immediately. I still like the first book the best, because that’s the turning point. That’s the Rubicon. If you haven’t read any of John Marsden’s books, you’re missing something (Especially if you liked the Hunger Games, you’re gonna Love the Tomorrow series!)

6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone / Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
Because I never tire of the first book in any favourite series. I’ve read it over ten times, and will continue reading it until I’m too old to read myself. Then I’ll get a grandchild to read it for me. Because there can not be too much magic in the world. I don’t care about the HP craze or the movies, I love him just the way he is written. This is the picture of the Swedish version of the book, the version that I read first, and I must confess I LOVE the Swedish covers, they are so artful and magical (look at the other Swedish covers made by Alvaro Tapia here or here -I could write a whole blog post about those covers, believe me!) compared to the boring English version.

4 thoughts on “Favourite books

  1. A favourite book is like comfort food, and arguably more nourishing. For me, there are two which stand head and shoulders above the rest. In the case of the first, same author, different work; Jane Austen’s Emma. And the other, Evelyn Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited, the first thing on a printed page ever to make me cry (at the moment when Julia reflects on the baby she lost) but moreover a book that is by turns funny, endearing and thought-provoking. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve re-read both of these, but one thing’s for sure; it’s never too long before I’m reading them again.

  2. Some great books in your list here! The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series is something I read over and over again, it is just pure genius (as are the two Dirk Gently books he wrote). I also find Catch 22 by Joseph Heller is a book I love to read many times over. 🙂

    1. I have started Catch 22 several times, but I never seem to finish it. (I love the Major Major Major Major! 😀 ) Now I can’t even remember where I left my copy of that book, haven’t seen it in years.

Leave a Reply

