Math and writing

If you write 1000 words per day, for one year, then by the end of the year you would have 365’000 words. That means you’d have 3 slimmer novels, or one ginormous one, like… like… I don’t know… Silmarillion… or… or… Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows… *tries to come up with thick books she knows without cheating* OH! I know! The Earth’s Children series, by Jean M Auel, you know, the books about Ayla. Clan of the Cavebears, The Mammoth Hunters, The Valley of Horses… I don’t remember the rest… Land of Painted Caves… there are 6 books in that series. The 6th just came out like last year or so.

I read them first, by the insistence of a friend, when I was 13, 14, 15-ish but stopped halfway through book five… or if I finished book five, I can’t remember. Book 6 hadn’t been released yet… and that was in the end of the 90-s beginning of the 00-s. Those were the thickest, longest books I’ve ever read in my entire life. Reading in bed wasn’t an option, I would have been smothered by the weight of the books.

Back to the topic: 3 books, that’s what you’d have after one year of writing 1000 words a day (or a thick one, hence the talk about being smothered in bed). So if I have like… 12 books going on it would take me 4 years to complete all 12… or less since half of them are almost finished or halfway through anyways…

I’m trying to muster up the courage to finish a book while not under NaNoWriMo pressure, but I like to dabble a little here and a little there, occasionally, on separately different stories, so… yeah, I’m trying to write 12 books during a 4 year period…

I have had crazier ideas, i have… I just can’t remember any of them right now… <.< *excuses excuses*

So, if YOU write, oh, let’s say 250 words/day (that’s just one page. One page!) you’d have a whole novel (or at least the length, the rest is up to you) finished by the year.
Inspiring, is it not? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Math and writing

  1. Au contraire, that’s just about the worst advice you could give to all the would-be writers out there. The moment they start focusing on speed, the less they’ll concentrate on the quality of what they’re churning out. Of course there are those who might be able to write this way, but as a rule the results are severely lacking, and don’t for an instant think that it doesn’t show!

    1. Candlelightwriter, you have a point, writing with speed shows in the quality. But I think 250 words are quite an okay amount to churn out per day. It would take someone like me less than 10 minutes…
      All my first drafts are crap (excuse the language) (I think that’s why they’re called first drafts), there is no ‘quality’ in them like in a book in the library, except some rare paragraphs here and there where the words really flow, but I love them anyways because they are complete stories, they go from ‘once upon a time’ until ‘the end’ with something resembling plot in between. I don’t expect them to be of quality material. I’ve tried that road, and that particular story is stranded, because I got bogged down by the editing and making sure the sentences made sense.

      It might work for others, but I couldn’t spend years writing on the same story, I’d be so bored with it in the end I wouldn’t want to see it any more… 🙂
      I am pro-writing-like-hell-and-getting-it-all-on-page-before-the-novelty-runs-out. That’s why I do NaNoWriMo. 😀

      Some people need to have a goal in sight to be able to write a book (I’m one of those). Just saying ‘I want to write a book’ doesn’t give you any specific details how to reach that goal. 250 words per day makes that goal tangible and reachable.
      A book isn’t something you sit down and write in one day (not even one month, but I know people who do it, I’ve done it too, though it’s still in it’s first draft), you have to practice to be good at it. Some people say it takes 10’000 hours of practice to be good at something. So why not dedicate some minutes every day at practicing? 🙂
      I know sometimes stories needs to brew, I have a story like that. It’s been brewing for almost ten years now, but that doesn’t stop me from writing, practicing, so that I will be at my very best when it eventually comes out.

      How do you write? You don’t have a set amount of words per day? No page counting? I’d like to know how. Are you like, was it James Joyce, who said he’d had a good day of writing – he’d written one word? *just curious* 🙂

  2. Everyone has a different way in which they write. I think for you Tereseh, you need to stop standing on the beach with nothing more than your toe submerged, and just jump right into the ocean. See where the current takes you. You may even finish a book and surprise yourself.

    Only you know what works for you, and maybe staying in that comfort zone is holding you back. Don’t beat yourself up, there are plenty of others out there who will do that for you. I’d like to share with you a quote from Mark Twain which reads, “Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.”

    To help validate what you said about quantity I found another quote by fantasy author Lawrence Watt-Evans. “There are times when quantity is at least as important as quality in learning an art.”

    At the end of the day only you know what will keep you writing. Whatever you do, just go for it body, mind, and soul. Perhaps you may surprise not only yourself, but the entire world as well.

    1. Oh, I’m gonna write those quotes on a piece of paper and tape it to the wall in front of me. 🙂 along with the quote “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

Leave a Reply

