Stuff that accumulate in the corners of the computer

Lately my computer (may I present Alex, the MacBook Pro to you, he has a couple of years on his neck and isn’t as fast as he used to be, but I still love him) has started complaining to me about space. Not that he needed any personal space, it was more about being able to swing about a few good programs without locking up. Which he did. Often. And he complained a lot. And I mean a Lot! Mostly about the start-up disk. He was occasionally giving me nudges by taking extra long time opening programs (especially Firefox for some reason – maybe he doesn’t like me fraternizing with the enemy)

Anyway, I got tired of all his complaints the other day and decided to find out where the heck all those Gigabytes of open space disappeared. (I know, a lot is busy with all the movies, series and music… almost an awful too much a lot for me to admit how much exactly, but that’s not the issue here. The entertainment folder takes up a lot of space, but not THAT much space.)

So I found this folder, until that day completely forgotten, tucked away in the corner. The name of the folder was a stately The Library, and sported a picture of Greek columns on the cover of what seems to be a book.

The Library. Sensing dread I opened the file and WHOA! STUFF! O.O

Two hours later Alex, the MacBook Pro was 8GB richer and I several degrees happier, because guess what I found? I found a sub-folder named…  *drumroll* …

“Writing novels and screenplays”

Packed with tips and tricks on the art of writing. Since then I’ve been sucked into the world of do this, don’t do that, be careful about this, how to write a scene, how to plot, how to character, how to write, how to book etc.

And you know what I’ve learned?
No matter how many famous authors tell you how to write a book, I have to want to tell the story to be able to write it. Some authors reduce writing a book to painting by numbers, but sticking to the rules is the last thing you should do. A Japanese poet wrote centuries ago:

Learn the rules well, and then forget them

So that’s what I’m going to do. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Stuff that accumulate in the corners of the computer

  1. I’ve always said that writing should be approached in the same way as tourism. The only way to truly see a city is to read the guide book on the way there for familiarisation purposes, then dump it in the first bin you see on arrival and just wander at random.

    Best of luck with it!

Leave a Reply

