At work

I’ve had the most… I don’t know… weird day? No, weird is not right, other-than-normal more like it.

I finally got rid of standing in the self service checkout! Yay! For almost the whole day I was a greeter, i.e. standing in front of the door, saying hello to customers and helping with their inquiries. And I have had the most nothing-to-do-with-my-workplace-at-all question of all time. We’re big on DIY (Do it yourself). We sell stuff from paving slabs to feature wallpaper to lettuce seeds – one could say a whole house could be built by just using stuff from my workplace – apart from windows and bricks. We sell neither. Anyway, this man comes in, looks left and right, then straight at me and fires off.

“Do you sell takeaway coffee?”

I’m standing like a fish on dry land for a couple of seconds before I can gather my wits and answer ‘no, but the store across the parking lot does.’

Another customer comes in the door and looks startled at me and says:

“You looked like a cardboard cutout from the outside, I thought you were a cardboard cutout, until you moved.”

I’m thinking of categorizing that as a compliment.

Even though work is occasionally fun/weird (I have co-workers who almost fight in the canteen during breaks, calling each other names and stuff, and half an hour later you can see them side by side laughing) it’s nothing I want to continue with for the rest of my life. I think I’ve said or written this before, but I’m getting fed up. It’s just that a job in this climate is hard to come by, so, just for safety reasons I’m sticking with this for now.

2 thoughts on “At work

  1. Jobs like that should be a great motivator for your writing. Let it fuel your drive to get published and then you can look back at the whole situation as a bad memory. Keep your head up, if cardboard people can do that sort of thing! Hardy-Har-Har. But seriously, hang in there.

    1. Thanks for the support! ๐Ÿ™‚ Much appreciated.
      Towards publishing and onwards!!!… …hopefully… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

